Distinguished Service Award

The Municipal Association established the Distinguished Service Award to honor individuals outside municipal government who contribute to the advancement of municipal government in South Carolina.

1976  Senator Walter Bristow
1978  Senator Rembert C. Dennis
1980  Representative Jean H. Toal
1981  The late Harris Page Smith (awarded posthumously) 
1981  Representative Thomas Hughston
1982  Governor Richard W. Riley
1983  Senator Heyward McDonald
1984  Senator William Doar
1985  Representative Herbert Kirsh
1986  Representative Robert Joseph Sheheen
1988  Senator James E. Bryan, Jr.
1989  Representative Robert McLellan
1990  Senator Thomas L. Moore
1992  Sidney F. Thomas
1995  Senator John Drummond
1999  Senator Arthur Ravenel, Jr.
2000  Representative James E. Clyburn
2002  Senator Brad Hutto
2004  Senator Ernest F. Hollings
2004  Representative David Wilkins
2007  Senator Phil Leventis
2008  Representative Ben Hagood

E. Allison Farlow Award

The E. Allison Farlow Award is the highest award given by the Municipal Association to honor a person within municipal government who has contributed significantly to the advancement of municipal government in South Carolina. It is named in memory of and respect for former Councilmember Allison Farlow of Myrtle Beach.

1976  Roy Bates, Columbia
1978  Allison Farlow, Myrtle Beach
1979  Max Holland, Rock Hill
1981  Connie DeCamps, Johnsonville
1982  Joe Riley, Charleston
1983  Caroll Atkinson, Marion
1984  John Dodds, Mt. Pleasant
1985  Erick Ficken, Myrtle Beach
1986  Pansy Ridgeway, Manning
1987  Odell Weeks, Aiken
1988  Patton Adams, Columbia
1989  Roland Windham, Aiken
1990  Don Wray
1996  Jim Robey
1997  Betty Jo Rhea, Rock Hill
1998  Mary Clark, Camden
2000  Ben Boozer
2008  Howard Duvall
2012  Rick Danner, Greer

Retirement Services Award

The Retirement Service Award recognizes Municipal Association retirees with more than 28 years of dedicated service to South Carolina cities and towns.

2013  B. Gail Hampton
2015  Barbara W. Little